Lakhimpur Kheri: Setting aside anti-incumbency sentiments, BJP won all 8 seats

गाँव कनेक्शनगाँव कनेक्शन   10 March 2022 10:29 AM GMT

Lakhimpur Kheri: Setting aside anti-incumbency sentiments, BJP won all 8 seats

UP is set to elect the ruling party back to power. Photo: Mohd. Salman, Lucknow.

Five months after eight people including four farmers lost their lives in the aftermath of a violent clash between protesters and BJP supporters in Uttar Pradesh's Lakhimpur Kheri, the district has elected the ruling party back to power. In Nighasan, the assembly seat which witnessed violence on October 3, BJP candidate Shashank Verma is 126,488 votes ahead of his nearest rival and Samajwadi Party leader RS Kushwaha (85,479).

There are a total of eight assembly seats in the Lakhimpur Kheri district — Mohammdi, Gola Gokarannath, Kasta, Lakhimpur, Srinagar, Nighasan, Dhaurahara, and Palia Kalan. The ruling BJP has won all eight seats in the district.

BJP leader Yogesh Verma is leading by about 46 per cent vote share in Lakhimpur. As per Election Commission of India, BJP's Verma is leading with 62,906 votes while Samajwadi Party's candidate Utkarsh Verma Madhur is trailing with 57,603 votes as of 7:00 pm.

In the 2017 assembly elections, BJP's Verma had won against SP's Madhur.

Also Read: Uttar Pradesh election results: BJP dominating on majority of seats as counting underway

This year, Verma has won with a massive lead of 5,303 votes over SP's Madhur.

Meanwhile, BJP candidate Shashank Verma from Nighasan, site of the Lakhimpur Kheri violence, is leading the vote share with 53.41 per cent at 126,488 votes. While his nearest rival RS Kushwaha of the Samajwadi Party trailing with 85,479 votes, as per the Election Commission at 7:00 pm.

Last year on October 3, eight people including four farmers, one journalist, two BJP workers, and their driver, were killed in the Lakhimpur Kheri violence. A convoy of three SUVs, including a Thar owned by Ajay Mishra, ran over a group of protesting farmers in Lakhimpur Kheri. The SIT had arrested 13 persons, including Ashish Mishra, for the killing of farmers and the journalist Raman Kashyap.

Later, Ashish, who was once the frontrunner for a ticket from the Nighasan assembly seat, was released on bail on February 15.

Also Read: Assembly Election Results 2022: Partywise trends in 5 states

#story assembly election 2022 lakhimpur violence #BJP 

Next Story

More Stories

© 2019 All rights reserved.