Punjab election results: AAP sweeps Punjab as Congress and SAD trail far behind

The Aam Aadmi Party has created electoral records in Punjab by winning 91 out of 117 states breaking the nexus of Congress and Akali Dal in Punjab. Bhagwant Mann is all set to be sworn in as the new Punjab CM. More details here.

Punjab election results: AAP sweeps Punjab as Congress and SAD trail far behind

Coming up as the most successful political party in the assembly elections, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has recorded a historic electoral performance in Punjab as it has won 91 seats with a total vote share of 42 per cent. The ruling Indian National Congress has won 18 seats whereas Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) has won three seats.

AAP's chief ministerial candidate Bhagwant Mann won from Dhuri constituency with a total of 82,023 votes whereas Congress' chief ministerial candidate Charanjit Singh Channi lost from Chamkaur Sahib and Bhadaur constituencies. Navjot Singh Sidhu who contested from Amritsar East has also lost.

BJP has won two constituencies while Bahujan Samaj Party has bagged only one seat in Punjab as per the Election Commission's website.

On the other hand, Captain Amarinder Singh, who joined ranks with the BJP before the elections lost from his Patiala constituency. If these trends continue, AAP is set to emerge as the winning party in the state which will help to solidify its image as a national alternative.

Delhi's chief minister, Arvind Kejriwal tweeted a victory image with Punjab's AAP chief ministerial candidate.

Punjab's former chief minister Captain Amarinder Singh congratulated AAP and Bhagwant Mann in his tweet.

SAD president Sukhbir Singh Badal also extended his congratulations to AAP and Bhagwant Mann and tweeted that he will continue to serve the people of Punjab with humility in the role assigned to the party. SAD had tied up with Mayawati's Bahujan Samaj Party in the 2022 assembly elections.

Punjab's former chief minister and the state's first Dalit chief minister fielded by the Congress party, Charanjit Singh Channi also took to twitter to congratulate AAP and Bhagwant Mann on their victory.

While addressing a rally in Punjab, Bhagwant Mann announced that he will be taking oath as the new chief minister in Bhagat Singh's village in Khatkarkalan. Mann also paid obeisance at Gurdwara Sri Mastuana Sahib after his resounding victory.

In addition to that, celebrations also took place at AAP's headquarters in Delhi where the Delhi chief minister Arvind Kejriwal addressed his supporters and said, "पहले दिल्ली में इन्क़लाब हुआ..आज पंजाब में इन्क़लाब हुआ...अब पूरे देश में इन्क़लाब होगा! 🇮🇳"

In February, before the state went to the polls, Gaon Connection visited the rural parts of Punjab to find out what are the key election issues according to the voters in Punjab - employment, migration, and education were cited to be as the key issues.

Next Story

More Stories

© 2019 All rights reserved.